Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 27th, 2013

Social Media

During our DATA meeting Social Media was brought up. I thought as your DATA president I would just speak briefly on how vulnerable a teacher who uses social media such as personal blogs, Facebook, Twitter, etc. can be. Like it or not teachers are held to a higher standard. Putting yourself out there and expressing yourself can get you in hot water if you’re not careful.

1.      Don’t Post Inappropriate Activities.

2.      Don’t Diss your Students, Teacher, District or Faculty or Staff

3.      Keep Confidential Information Confidential

4.      Utilize Privacy Settings

A couple rules I follow in regards to social media: if I wouldn’t say to the person directly, I don’t post it on the “interweb”. I also try to make sure my posts promote the arts and speak on the positives. You never know who is reading your posts. No matter how private you think they are.

Read Full Post »